Wednesday 4 February 2009

Media Alert - Charles Taylor Prize - King Edward Hotel lunch time award Feb 9


The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction
Author Luncheon and Winner Announcement
Monday, February 9th

Media are invited to cover the 8th awarding of The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction on Monday, February 9th at Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Toronto.

The CTP Author Luncheon honours the 2009 finalists, and provides background on this year’s short listed books. The reception, luncheon and ceremony provide opportunities to hear from the authors and jurors, meet Prize trustees and talk with representatives from Canada’s publishing industry. The luncheon concludes with the announcement the 2009 Prize winner between 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Finalists for the 2009 Charles Taylor Prize are Elizabeth Abbott for Sugar: A Bittersweet History; Tim Cook author of Shock Troops: Canadians Fighting the Great War, 1917-1918 Vol. II; and Ana Siljak, author Angel of Vengeance: The ‘Girl Assassin’, The Governor of St. Petersburg, and Russia’s Revolutionary World

This year’s jurors are past prize finalist Warren Cariou (Winnipeg), writer and journalist Jeffrey Simpson (Ottawa) and arts and culture expert Shirley Thomson (Ottawa).

Prize Chair, Noreen Taylor will present a specially comissioned crystal award and $25,000 in prize money on behalf of The Charles Taylor Prize Foundation. The two runners-up will each receive a $2,000 honorarium for being named finalists.

The Charles Taylor Prize recognizes excellence in Canadian writing. Among the most prestigious in the country, this national book award was established in 2000 to commemorate the life and work of one of Canada’s foremost essayists, the late Charles Taylor. Now in its 8th year, the Prize is presented annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety of thought and perception. The Prize is a driving force behind the growth of literary non-fiction and has been awarded annually since 2004.

The announcement will be carried live on CBC Radio One’s Ontario Today with Rita Celli and on the internet at For more information visit:

Media are requested to confirm attendance, special requirements or interview requests with:
Stephen Weir & Associates:
Stephen Weir 416-489-5868 • cell: 416-801-3101 •
Linda Crane: 905-257-6033 • cell: 416-727-0112 •