Monday 8 February 2010

Globe and Mail Columnist and Author Ian Brown Wins Big

Ian Brown Wins the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

The Winner of the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is Ian Brown (Toronto) for his book The Boy in the Moon: A Father’s Search For His Disabled Son, published by Random House Canada. The $25,000 prize was awarded Monday, February 8, 2010, at a gala luncheon held in the historic Sovereign Ballroom of downtown Toronto’s Le Meridien King Edward Hotel. The remaining nominees — John English, Daniel Poliquin, and Kenneth Whyte — each received $2,000.
Of the book, the jury said: “In telling the story of his son afflicted with a rare, mysterious disease, Ian Brown takes us into a netherworld where medicine and morality meet. He recounts the quotidian struggles of Walker with artless candour, quirky humour and unsparing detail. Marshalling a journalist’s investigative tools, Brown searches out the disabled and finds not only them, but a community of geneticists, neurologists, ethicists, and secular saints. His account of his journey is deeply discomfiting and deeply affecting. Along the way, Brown discovers himself — and the capacity for love.”
Ian Brown is a feature writer for The Globe and Mail; the anchor of TVO’s Human Edge and The View from Here, Canada’s television documentary series; and for 10 years was the host of CBC Radio One’s Talking Books. His reporting and writing have won more than a dozen national magazine and newspaper awards. He is the author of two books, Freewheeling and Man Overboard, and the editor of the anthology What I Meant to Say: The Private Lives of Men. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.
The jurors for The 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction are Andrew Cohen (Toronto), Tim Cook (Ottawa), and Sheila Fischman (MontrĂ©al). They selected The Boy in the Moon: A Father’s Search For His Disabled Son from among 125 books, submitted by 34 publishers, from all across North America. Books in the genre of literary non-fiction, published between November 1, 2008, and October 31, 2009, were eligible for submission if authored by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and widely available for purchase in Canada.
The prestigious Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction recognizes excellence in Canadian non-fiction writing. Since its inception in 1998, the prize has fostered a growing interest in non-fiction, engaged Canadians in the genre of literary non-fiction, and boosted sales of the winning authors’ books.
Founded in commemoration of the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada’s foremost essayists and a prominent member of the Canadian literary community, the prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.
The trustees of the Charles Taylor Foundation are Michael Bradley (Toronto), Judith Mappin (Montréal), David Staines (Ottawa), and Noreen Taylor (Toronto). The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation with the generous support of its partners: Ben McNally Books, Bravo! and Book Television, Canada Newswire (CNW), Event Source, Indigo Books and Music, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Quill & Quire, The Globe and Mail, and Windfields Farm.

Bravo! Arts&Minds Charles Taylor Prize Special

This special edition of Arts&Minds will feature highlights of the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction shortlist news conference and awards luncheon, and a feature interview with the winner. The special also includes reaction from prize founder Noreen Taylor and members of the jury, as well as profiles of each of the shortlisted authors and their books. The show will premiere on Saturday, February 20th at 6:00 p.m. Eastern and Sunday, February 21st at 7:00 p.m. Eastern. Check for the complete listings. This program will also be available online at
To download high-resolution images of the jury, finalists, and shortlisted Book covers please go to:
For more information please visit: and follow us on Twitter at

PHOTO CUTLINE: Noreen Taylor, founder of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction congratulates Ian Brown, winner of the 2010 prize for his book The Boy in the Moon: A Father's Search for his Disabled Son. (CNW Group/Charles Taylor Prize)

Media contact: Stephen Weir & Associates
Stephen Weir: 416-489-5868 cell: 416-801-3101
Linda Crane: 905-257-6033 cell: 416-727-0112