Monday, 1 February 2010


Media Advisory
Feb. 1, 2010
Media are invited to cover

The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction

Monday, February 8
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Toronto
Reception 11:30 a.m. • Luncheon 12:00 p.m.
Winning Announcement before 2p.m.

What: Join host Paula Todd at the 2010 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction Author Luncheon and celebrate this year’s finalists, learn about this year’s short listed books, and capture the excitement when jurors announce the winner of Canada’s most prestigious literary non-fiction award.
Where: Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Sovereign Ballroom, Main Level, 37 King St. E., Toronto

2010 CTP Finalists:

Ian Brown
for The Boy in the Moon: A Father’s Search for his Disabled Son (Random House Canada)
John English
for Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, 1968 – 2000
(Knopf Canada)
Daniel Poliquin
for René Lévesque (Penguin Canada)
Kenneth Whyte
for The Uncrowned King: The Sensational Rise of William Randolph Hearst (Random House Canada)

Prize Jurors and Spokespersons available for comment:
Award-winning author Andrew Cohen (Ottawa); Tim Cook (Ottawa), winner of the 2009 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction; and award-winning translator Sheila Fischman (Montréal)
Prize Chair Noreen Taylor
Charles Taylor Prize Foundation Trustees
Established in 2000 to commemorate one of Canada’s foremost essayists, the late Charles Taylor; this national book award recognizes excellence in Canadian writing. Now in its 9th year, the Charles Taylor Prize is presented annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety of thought and perception.


MEDIA: For seating or to arrange interviews contact Stephen Weir & Associates:

Stephen Weir 416-489-5868 • cell: 416-801-3101 •

Linda Crane: 905-257-6033 • cell: 416-727-0112 •

No comments: