Wednesday, 4 January 2012


Press Conference - Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction Announcement 2012 Shortlist

National Post's photograph of last year's Prize winner, Charlie Foran
Tuesday, January 10th         10:00 a.m. sharp!
Royal Bank of Canada, Executive Lounge
South Tower, 200 Bay Street, 40th Floor
(corner of Bay & Front Street)
TORONTO, Jan. 4, 2012 /CNW/ - Please join the Trustees of The Charles Taylor Prize Foundation, and presenting sponsor, RBC Wealth Management for the announcement of the 2012 Finalists of The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction.
Who: Hosted by: Noreen Taylor, Founder and Chair, The Charles Taylor Prize Foundation
Also in attendance and available for comment:
Dr. David Staines, Prize Trustee
2012 Jurors Stevie Cameron & Susan Renouf (Allen M. Brandt absent)
Vijay Parmar, Vice President, RBC Wealth Management
Canadian publishers & book editors
Unveiling of the authors and titles that have been shortlisted for the 11th awarding of The Charles Taylor Prize -- the country's most prestigious non-fiction award.
Where:  Note that the Shortlist Announcement venue has changed for 2012
RBC Executive Lounge, 200 Bay Street, 40th Floor.  Paid parking available underground.
Media will be met in lobby by CTP Representatives.
The Prize commemorates the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists, a foreign correspondent and a prominent member of the Canadian literary community whose dream was to raise the public profile of non-fiction.  Now in its 11th year, The Prize is recognized as a driving force behind the growth of non-fiction in Canada; celebrating the exceptional authors who captivate us with their stories, insights and style.
The $25,000 Prize is awarded annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety of thought and perception. An award of $2,000 is provided for each finalist with promotional support for each shortlisted title.
The winner of the 2012 Prize will be announced on Monday, March 5th.
This year, 115 submissions competed for the Charles Taylor Prize's first ever Longlist which was announced December 12th, 2011.  For longlisted authors and books visit:
The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction is presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation in association with presenting sponsor, RBC Wealth Management; with support from Windfields Farm. Media partners include CNW Group, CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Quill & Quire. The Prize also acknowledges the generosity and support of Ben McNally Books, Chapters/Indigo Books and Music, Event Source, International Festival of Authors, KOBO, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel and The Review of Books. For more information:

For further information:
Media are requested to confirm their attendance with Stephen Weir & Associates:

Stephen Weir:  416-489-5868   cell: 416-801-3101
Linda Crane:       905-257-6033    cell: 416-727-0112

No comments: